Golden Apples: Part 2. Appelmoise – Cooking and the recipe

For the conclusion to my “Golden Apples” post I’m making appelmoise, also known as apple-moyse. It’s a dessert made from apple pulp, spices, and in this recipe, eggs. The OED defines it “Any of various dishes made from stewed apples; spec. a dessert made from sieved apple pulp flavoured with saffron or other spices”. This is the recipe I’ll be using is from A proper new booke of cookery, a 1575 anonymous cookbook.

To make an Appelmoise

Take a dosyn apples, and either roste or boyle them, and drawe them thorow a Stayner, and the yolkes of three or foure egges withall, and as ye straine them, temper them with three or foure sponefull of damaske water, if ye will, then take and season it with suger and halfe a dish of

sweete butter, boyle then upon a chafingfish in a plater, cast biskets or cinnamon and Ginger upon them, and so serve them forth

I decided to boil rather than roast the apples, so I pealed, quartered and cored them, and put them in a saucepan with a little water to stop them sticking. I covered them with a lid, then cooked on a low heat until they were soft (about 20 minutes).

Once they were boiled, I mashed the apples together with the egg yolks, then pushed them through a sieve. This was a little time-consuming to be honest, but not ridiculously so.

I added the butter while the apples were still hot so that it would melt, then I added rose water (damask is a kind of rose) and about 3 tablespoons of sugar,  then returned it to the pan with a sprinkling of cinnamon and ginger. Once the mixture started boiling and bubbling again, I took it off the heat and put it into a serving bowl.
I ate the appelmoise with some biscuits. It was very tasty – definitely one of the nicer things I have cooked. It makes a great spread on toast, I think toasted fruit bread or hot cross buns would go particularly nicely. Yes, this is certainly one I would recommend trying. Here’s a recipe:
Appelmoise

12 apples

25g butter

Yolks of 3 eggs (4 if the apples are very large)

1 tsp rose water

3 tbsp sugar

Pinch each cinnamon and ginger

Peel, core and quarter the apples. Put them in a saucepan, add about 100ml water, cover and cook on a low heat for 20 minutes or until soft. Drain some of the water off if there seems to be too much. Add the egg yolks and work through a sieve or fine colander. Add the sugar, butter, rose water and spices, then return to pan and cook on a medium heat until bubbling.

Serve with biscuits or spread on toasted fruit bread. This would probably go nicely with ice-cream as well.

4 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Recipe

4 responses to “Golden Apples: Part 2. Appelmoise – Cooking and the recipe

  1. Lin Davies

    What is the purpose of seiving? Could you blend lightly. . . ? I shall definitely try it when we have an abundance of apples in the autumn!

    • I think sieving probably achieves the best texture, I would imagine that blending it could make it a little sloppy. You could try mashing the apples with a potato masher. Either way, it wouldn’t affect the flavour, but the texture would be a little different. It’s almost jam-like when sieved.

      If you make it later in the year then please do let me know how you got on with the recipe!

  2. Jen

    How many servings will one batch make?

    • Good question Jen! I should probably have made a note of that, I’ll try to remember to do this in future as it would probably be useful. I made this a while ago now so I’m trying to remember.. as I recall this made quite a bit of applemoise, I would say you could feed 4 people with this amount, maybe with some left over?

Leave a Reply

